For Sartorius, the mintdesign team – following the building renovation by David Chipperfield Architects – worked and played with the conditions and challenges of historic preservation for the expansion of the almost 3,200 square metre premises on the site of the former Bötzow Brewery in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. With mobile workstations, the planned space for the internationally active life science group can now reinvent itself again and again, making it perfect for events, exhibitions and conferences. Flexible and spacious, inspiring and green is the result.

This has been achieved with a variety of plants that are good for the room climate and acoustics at the same time, and with a number of flexible details – above all from System 180. Starting with the cathedral-like room, which is visually and acoustically convincing with rollable tables from System 180, movable work islands, movable room dividers with plants from other manufacturers, a tree with bar table and a sound-absorbing ceiling installation made of wool felt elements, and which can become an event location or exhibition space at any time thanks to its mobile furniture.

Adjacent to this, separated only by a small lounge and kitchen area, is the actual work area in an old hall with historic columns and gallery. Here, too, it’s green around every corner – whether at the informal meeting areas, next to the System 180 high tables or on the System 180 storage solutions.

In the attic – similar to the multifunctional area below – there is another agile area and additional meeting rooms. Here, too, the variety of uses determines the design. All System 180 tables and furniture in this room, which is lit via skylights, are therefore equipped with castors, making different room configurations possible without any problems – from everyday office use, to smaller and larger conferences, to workshops.

Project details
Client:

Sartorius Corporate Administration GmbH
Designer/Planner:

mintdesign
Photos:

Clemens Richter
System 180:

Tables RackPod, DT-Line Tables T6, sideboards with planting on castors, individual sideboards and shelving systems
Location:

Berlin
Realised:

2021

“The special premises and the close cooperation with Sartorius make the project a matter of the heart for us.”

Lars-Sebastian Dillner, Dipl. Ing. Arch, mintdesign
Katja Peter, Dipl. Ing. Arch, mintdesign

Für Sartorius hat das Team von mintdesign – im Anschluss an die Gebäudesanierung durch David Chipperfield Architects – für den Ausbau der knapp 3.200 Quadratmeter großen Räumlichkeiten auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Bötzow Brauerei in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg mit den Gegebenheiten und Herausforderungen des Denkmalschutzes gearbeitet und gespielt. Mit beweglichen Arbeitsplätzen kann sich die geplante Fläche für den international agierenden Life-Science Konzern nun immer wieder neu erfinden und ist damit auch perfekt für Events, Ausstellungen und Konferenzen geeignet. Flexibel und großzügig, inspirierend und grün ist das Ergebnis.

Gelungen ist das mit einer Vielzahl von Pflanzen, die gleichzeitig dem Raumklima und der Akustik gut tun und mit etlichen flexiblen Details – vor allem von System 180. Angefangen im kathedralenartigen Raum, der mit rollbaren Tischen von System 180, beweglichen Arbeitsinseln, verschiebbaren Raumtrennern mit Bepflanzung von anderen Herstellern, einem Baum mit Stehtisch sowie einer schallabsorbierenden Deckeninstallation aus Wollfilzelementen optisch und akustisch überzeugt und dank seiner mobilen Möbel jederzeit zur Event-Location oder Ausstellungsfläche werden kann.

Daran schließt sich, nur durch einen kleinen Lounge- und Küchenbereich getrennt, der eigentlich Arbeitsbereich in einer alten Halle mit historischen Säulen und Galerie an. Auch hier grünt es an jeder Ecke – ob an den informellen Meeting-Gelegenheiten, neben den Stehtischen von System 180 oder auf den Stauraumlösungen von System 180.

Im Dachgeschoss findet sich – ähnlich wie auf der darunterliegenden multifunktionalen Fläche – ein weiterer agiler Bereich und zusätzliche Meetingräume. Auch hier bestimmt die Nutzungsvielfalt die Gestaltung. Alle Tische und Möbel von System 180 in diesem über Dachfenster belichteten Raum sind deshalb mit Rollen ausgestattet und machen so problemlos unterschiedliche Raumkonfigurationen möglich – von der alltägliche Büronutzung, über kleinere und größere Konferenzen, bis hin zu Workshops.

Projektdetails
Auftraggeber:Sartorius Corporate Administration GmbH
Designer/Planer:mintdesign
Fotos:Clemens Richter
System 180:Tische RackPod, DT-Line Tables T6, Sideboards mit Bepflanzung auf Rollen, individuelle Sideboards und Regalsysteme
Ort:Berlin
Realisiert:2021

„Die besonderen Räumlichkeiten und die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Sartorius machen das Projekt für uns zu einer Herzensangelegenheit.“

Lars-Sebastian Dillner, Dipl. Ing. Arch, mintdesign
Katja Peter, Dipl. Ing. Arch, mintdesign